Skip to main content

Academic Advising

We offer advising for general academics, career and technical education, student support services and by department.

FIND YOUR ADVISOR - LET US HELP TODAY!

General Academic AdvisorsCTE Advisors  |  SSS Advisors  |  Department Advisors

Follow Us

Snapchat USUE-Advising

General Academic Advising

Each student is assigned an academic advisor based on last name or specific program. Please look below to find your advisor.

  To schedule an appointment with an Academic Advisor call (435) 613-5207 or book online with your advisor below.

Liz Prettyman

Liz Prettyman

Last Names A-B
Academic Probation, Academic Suspension


Phone: (435) 613-5588
Email: liz.prettyman@usu.edu  
Office: One-Stop Student Services

  Make an Appointment

Jaycie Miller

Jaycie Miller

Student Athletes
 


Phone: (435) 613-5271
Email: jaycie.miller@usu.edu 
Office: BDAC 124

  Make an Appointment

Lyndsay Reid

Lyndsay Reid

Last Names C-L
Nursing Program



Phone: (435) 613-5311
Email: lyndsay.reid@usu.edu 
Office: One-Stop Student Services

  Make an Appointment

Miriam Riding

Miriam Riding

Last Names M-Z
Elementary Education BS
 
Phone: (435) 613-5241
Email: miriam.riding@usu.edu
Office: One-Stop Student Services

  Make an Appointment


Career & Technical Education Advising

CTE programs provide students academic and professional skills, along with the knowledge and training necessary to succeed in technical and industrial careers. Our advisors are available to assist with admissions, course scheduling and program completion. Find your program advisor below.

  To schedule an appointment with a Career and Technical Education Advisor call (435) 613-5207 or book online with your advisor below.

Kim Mortensen

Kim Mortensen


Phone: (435) 613-5462
Email: kim.mortensen@usu.edu
Office: One Stop Student Services

  Make an Appointment

Zak Konakis

Zak Konakis


Phone: (435) 613-5214
Email: zak.konakis@usu.edu
Office: One Stop Student Services

  Make an Appointment


Student Support Services Advising

Student Support Services (SSS) provides advising, tutoring and support to students who qualify for the federally funded TRiO program. For more information see Student Support Services.

  To schedule an appointment with a Student Support Services Advisor call (435) 613-5305 or book online with your advisor below.

Rachel Lund

Rachel Lund

Phone: (435) 613-5436
Email: rachel.lund@usu.edu 
Office: Jennifer Leavitt Student Center (JLSC) Room 225

  Make an Appointment

Jason Gibson

Jason Gibson

Phone: (435) 613-5308
Email: jason.gibson@usu.edu 
Office: Jennifer Leavitt Student Center (JLSC) Room 225

  Make an Appointment

Chelsey Sorenson

Chelsey Sorenson

Phone: (435) 613-5304
Email:chelsey.sorenson@usu.edu 
Office: Jennifer Leavitt Student Center (JLSC) Room 225

  Make an Appointment

 
 

Departmental Advising

Instructors and professors are available and willing to meet with students. If you would like more information about a specific area of study please don't hesitate to make an appointment.

  To schedule an appointment with a departmental advisor view the advisor office hours below for times and contact information.

Fall Semester 2019 Department Advisor Office Hours

 
Department

Contact
Office Hours
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Accounting Henning Olsen
henning.olsen@usu.edu
RV 170, (435) 613-5219
10:30 - 11:20 am
or by appointment
10:30 - 11:20 am
or by appointment
10:30 - 11:20 am
or by appointment
10:30 - 11:20 am
or by appointment
by appointment
Art Christopher Kanyusik
christopher.kanyusik@usu.edu 
CIB 108, (435) 613-5203
 12:30 - 1:30 pm 12:30 - 1:30 pm 12:30 - 1:30 pm 12:30 - 1:30 pm
Automotive Technology Todd Richardson
todd.richardson@usu.edu
MCC 108, (435) 613-5673
  2:00 - 3:00 pm
2:00 - 3:00 pm 2:00 - 3:00 pm 2:00 - 3:00 pm
  Scott Edwards
scott.edwards@usu.edu
MCC 111, (435) 613-5221
8:30 - 9:30 am
or by appointment
8:30 - 9:30 am
or by appointment
8:30 - 9:30 am
or by appointment
8:30 - 9:30 am
or by appointment
by appointment 

Business

Henning Olsen
henning.olsen@usu.edu
RV 170, (435) 613-5219

10:30 - 11:30 am 10:30 - 11:30 am 10:30 - 11:30 am 10:30 - 11:30 am  
Biology
Pre-Med
Tyson Chappell
tyson.chappell@usu.edu
RV 261, (435) 613-5345
8:15 - 9:15 am 10:50 - 11:30 am 8:15 - 9:15 am
12:20 - 12:50 pm
10:50 - 11:30 am 8:15 - 9:15 am
12:20 - 12:50 pm
Wayne Hatch
wayne.hatch@usu.edu
RV 264, (435) 613-5393
by appointment by appointment by appointment 10:00 am - 12:00 pm 1:00 - 4:00 pm
Chemistry
Pre-Pharmacy
Pre-Dental
John Weber
john.weber@usu.edu
RV 250, (435) 613-5665
9:30 - 10:30 am
or by appointment
9:30 - 10:30 am
or by appointment
9:30 - 10:30 am
or by appointment
9:30 - 10:30 am
or by appointment
9:30 - 10:30 am
or by appointment
Criminal Justice
Police Officer Academy
Pre-Law
Scott Henrie
scott.henrie@usu.edu
CIB 213, (435) 613-5135
10:30 - 11:30 am
or by appointment

10:30 - 11:30 am
or by appointment
10:30 - 11:30 am
or by appointment
10:30 - 10:30 am
or by appointment
10:30 - 11:30 am
or by appointment
Jason Marshall
jason.marshall@usu.edu
CIB 212, (435) 650-4749
10:30 am - 1:30 pm 10:30 am - 1:30 pm 10:30 am - 1:30 pm 10:30 am - 1:30 pm 10:30 am - 1:30 pm
Rachel Walton
rachel.walton@usu.edu
CIB 214, (435) 613-5272
by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment
Cosmetology Debbie Prichard
debbie.prichard@usu.edu
MCC 212, (435) 613-5302
9:00 am - 2:00 pm 9:00 am - 2:00 pm 9:00 am - 2:00 pm 9:00 am - 2:00 pm 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
Linda Davis
linda.davis@usu.edu
MCC 212, (435) 613-5301
9:00 am - 2:00 pm 9:00 am - 2:00 pm 9:00 am - 2:00 pm 9:00 am - 2:00 pm 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
Drafting/EDDT Elias Perez
elias.perez@usu.edu
WIB 113, (435) 613-5251
by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment
Diesel Mechanics Dean Collard
dean.collard@usu.edu
MCC 105, (435) 613-5625
11:30 am - 12:00 pm
or by appointment
 by appointment 11:30 am - 12:00 pm
or by appointment
12:30 am - 12:00 pm
or by appointment 
by appointment
Education Anne Mackiewicz
anne.mackiewicz@usu.edu
WIB 123, (435) 613-5206
10:30 am - 12:00 pm 10:30 am - 12:00 pm 10:30 am - 12:00 pm 10:30 am - 12:00 pm by appointment
English Michaelann Nelson
michaelann.nelson@usu.edu 
WIB 247B, (435) 613-5215
by appointment
or email
by appointment
or email
by appointment
or email
by appointment
or email
by appointment
or email
Engineering
Pre Engineering
Tracy Blake
tracy.blake@usu.edu
RV 253, (435) 613-5335
         
Geology
Geography
Michelle Fleck
michelle.fleck@usu.edu
RV 263, (435) 613-5232
by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment
Heavy Equipment and Trucking Leon McElprang
leon.mcelprang@usu.edu
IPB, (435) 637-2201
by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment
History Susan Neel
susan.neel@usu.edu 
WIB 243, (435) 613-5279
by appointment  8:00 am - 1:00 pm
or by appointment
by appointment by appointment by appointment 
Journalism and Communication Susan Polster
susan.polster@usu.edu
CIB 202, (435) 613-5213
by appointment 12:00 - 1:30 pm
or by appointment
by appointment 12:00 - 1:30 pm
or by appointment
by appointment
Math            
  Kevin Bower
kevin.bower@usu.edu
WIB 219, (435) 613-5638
11:30 am - 12:20 pm
 or by appointment
9:30 - 10:20 am
 or by appointment
11:30 am - 12:20 pm
 or by appointment
9:30 - 10:20 am
 or by appointment
8:30 - 9:20 am
 or by appointment
Medical Assisting
Health Professions
Lori Rager
lori.rager@usu.edu
MCC RVS 252, (435) 613-5316
by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment
Music Larry Martin
larry.martin@usu.edu 
CIB 131, (435) 613-5240
10:30 - 11:30 am   10:30 - 11:30 am   10:30 - 11:30 am
Nursing Laura Dotson
laura.dotson@usu.edu 
Reeves 258, (435) 613-5210
by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment
Political Science
Philosophy
Jennifer Truschka
jennifer.truschka@usu.edu
WIB 240, (435) 613-5626
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
3:15 - 4:30 pm
12:00 - 1:00 pm 11:00 am - 12:00 pm 12:00 - 1:00 pm 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Physics Dave Kardelis
david.kardelis@usu.edu
RV 262, (435) 613-5258
10:00 - 11:00 am
or by appointment
10:00 - 11:00 am
or by appointment
10:00 - 11:00 am
or by appointment
10:00 - 11:00 am
or by appointment
10:00 - 11:00 am
or by appointment
Social Work Jan Thornton
jan.thornton@usu.edu
CIB 211, (435) 613-5355
10:00 - 11:30 am
or by appointment
by appointment 12:30 - 2:00 pm
or by appointment
by appointment 10:00 - 11:30 am
or by appointment
Psychology
Sociology
Heath Earl
heath.earl@usu.edu
WIB 245B, (435) 613-5259
8:00 - 9:00 am
or by appointment
  8:00 - 9:00 am
or by appointment
  8:00 - 9:00 am
or by appointment
Theatre Corey Ewan
corey.ewan@usu.edu
CIB 130, (435) 613-5202
3:00 - 4:30 pm 3:00 - 4:30 pm 3:00 - 4:30 pm 3:00 - 4:30 pm  
Welding Lon Youngberg
lon.youngberg@usu.edu
MCC 111, (435) 613-5674
12:30 - 1:30 pm 12:30 - 1:30 pm 12:30 - 1:30 pm 12:30 - 1:30 pm  
Natural Resources Mike King
mike.king@usu.edu
RV 260, (435) 613-5400
by appointment by appointment by appointment by appointment